Close
(0) items
You have no items in your shopping cart.
Browse
    Filters
    Preferences
    Search

    Fierce, Fearless and Free: Girls in myths and legends from around the world

    £6.99
    ISBN: 9781472967138
    AuthorLari Don, Eilidh Muldoon
    Pub Date05/03/2020
    BindingPaperback
    Pages160
    Availability: In Stock

    A brilliant, inclusive collection of traditional tales from around the world featuring amazing women and girls.

    Once upon a time, there was a handsome prince who - no, that's not right! Once upon a time, there were strong, fierce women who plotted, schemed, took action, showed kindness, used magic and trickery, and made their own destiny. From the long-haired Petrosinella who escaped the tower and broke the spell that the ogress had cast over her and Nana Miriam who beat a hippo using politeness and magic, to Kate Crackernuts who tried to save her stepsister from her mother's curse, these are stories of girls doing it for themselves!

    With stories drawn from all over the world, including China, Scotland, Armenia, Italy and Nigeria, Lari Don presents heroine stories that don't leave girls sitting around waiting to be saved by the handsome prince.

    Write your own review
    • Only registered users can write reviews
    *
    *
    • Bad
    • Excellent
    *
    *
    *

    A brilliant, inclusive collection of traditional tales from around the world featuring amazing women and girls.

    Once upon a time, there was a handsome prince who - no, that's not right! Once upon a time, there were strong, fierce women who plotted, schemed, took action, showed kindness, used magic and trickery, and made their own destiny. From the long-haired Petrosinella who escaped the tower and broke the spell that the ogress had cast over her and Nana Miriam who beat a hippo using politeness and magic, to Kate Crackernuts who tried to save her stepsister from her mother's curse, these are stories of girls doing it for themselves!

    With stories drawn from all over the world, including China, Scotland, Armenia, Italy and Nigeria, Lari Don presents heroine stories that don't leave girls sitting around waiting to be saved by the handsome prince.

    Customers who bought this item also bought

    The Five: The Untold Lives of the Women Killed by Jack the Ripper

    £9.99
    WINNER OF THE BAILLIE GIFFORD PRIZE FOR NONFICTION 2019 The Problem with Great Men is a new essay by Hallie Rubenhold commissioned by Edinburgh International Book Festival as a follow-up to The Five, with support from Baillie Gifford and the Baillie Gifford Prize for Non-Fiction. We'll post you a free limited edition booklet of The Problem with Great Men when you buy The Five.

    The Black Flamingo

    £7.99
    Fiercely told, this is a bold and timely coming-of-age story, told in verse about one boy's journey to self-acceptance. Perfect for fans of Sarah Crossan, Poet X and Orangeboy.

    Imagine A Country: Ideas For A Better Future

    £12.00
    Visions of a new future from an astonishing array of Scottish voices - edited by the bestselling author Val McDermid and Jo Sharp

    Bearmouth

    £7.99

    Wonderland

    £7.99
    What happens when you fall down the rabbit hole? The compulsive must-have follow-up to CLEAN and MEAT MARKET from bestselling author Juno Dawson