(0) items
You have no items in your shopping cart.

    Fledgling Press

    Fledgling Press is an independent publisher based in Edinburgh, publishing historical fiction, life stories, crime fiction, literary fiction and young adult fiction, including award-winning authors Helen Grant, Philip Caveney and Alex Nye. We are committed to publishing work by debut authors, emerging talent and new voices in the literary world.
    Saltire First Book Award shortlistees Moira McPartlin (The Incomers) and Kate Hunter (The Caseroom), and the next new name in Scottish Crime Fiction, Andrew James Greig (Whirligig), currently longlisted for the CWA John Creasey New Blood Dagger 2020 and the McIlvanney Prize 2020 are represented by Fledgling Press too.

    View as Grid List
    Sort by
    Display per page

    Arguing with the Dead

    The year is 1839, and Mary Shelley - the author of Frankenstein - is alone. Sorting through her husband's scattered papers she is reminded of their past: the half-ruined villas in Italy, the stormy relationship with Shelley and her stepsister Claire, the loss of her children, and finally, her husband's drowning on the Gulf of Spezia.

    Between Dreams: Difficult Paths and Dangerous Places

    Steve Harvey was in the same class at school as Sting in the sixties, on 'the Fringe' with Liam Neeson in the seventies; spent a day with Spike Milligan; went round the world; breathalysed Gazza and much, much more - this is the story of his life so far.


    David Flanagan thought learning to surf would be easy, despite the fact he was scared of the ocean and fast approaching middle age. he intended to write a light-hearted account of his progress towards surfing nirvana, but instead found himself facing danger, doubt and the spectre of childhood bereavement.

    Charley Chambers

    Charley has always known that she's different - ever since she was small, strange things have happened around her - but it isn't until she meets high school heartthrob and the most popular kid in school, Aiden Cunningham, that she finally realises she isn't alone. Charley Chambers is magic.

    Common Cause

    It's 1915 and Britain is at war as Kate Hunter's sequel to The Caseroom opens on the next stage in the lives of Iza Orr, skilled compositor, and the workers in Edinburgh's print industry. We step alongside Iza as she copes with unexpected complexities of patriotism, women's suffrage, worker victimisation and a historic wartime lockout.

    Crow Boy

    Set in Mary King's Close, an exciting historical adventure featuring a young boy - Tom Afflick who finds himself transported from Edinburgh in 2012 and apprenticed to a plague doctor in Edinburgh in 1645.

    Danube Street

    From the authors of the bestselling Coyle Trilogy comes a fantastic new title, its origins rooted in fact. At one time 17 Danube Street in the city's genteel New Town was the most notorious address in Edinburgh. Danube Street tells the fictional tale of Madame, Stella Gold and her mission to create Edinburgh's most exclusive brothel.

    Darker Ends

    Two children, a brother and sister, wait in a lonely inn in Glencoe for their parents to come home, while a storm closes in and the ghosts of the recent past mingle with the dark events of 1692, when the leader of Clan Campbell authorized the genocide of a whole community All is not what it seems.

    Eyes Turned Skywards

    Wing Commander Robert Sutherland has left his days as a pre-war detective far behind him, or so he thinks. Set against a background of a country that is far from united behind Winston Churchill, Eyes Turned Skywards spans land and sea and air. This novel is based around true events, including the death of the Duke of Kent during World War II.

    Fledgling Press