Close
(0) items
You have no items in your shopping cart.
Browse
    Filters
    Preferences
    Search

    Gods of Jade and Shadow

    £8.99
    The Mayan God of Death sends a young woman on a harrowing, life-changing journey in this dark fairy tale inspired by Mexican folklore. A vivid, wildly imaginative historical fantasy for fans of Katherine Arden and Naomi Novik.
    ISBN: 9781529402643
    AuthorSilvia Moreno-Garcia
    Pub Date20/02/2020
    BindingPaperback
    Pages352
    Availability: In Stock

    'This is historical fantasy at its best' S.A. Chakraborty, author of The City of Brass

    Inspired by Mexican folklore, Gods of Jade and Shadow is a magical, wildly imaginative coming-of-age tale for fans of Katherine Arden, Naomi Novik and Helene Wecker.

    The Jazz Age is in full swing, but it's passing Casiopea Tun by. She's too busy scrubbing floors in her wealthy grandfather's house to do anything more than dream of a life far from her dusty, small town in southern Mexico. A life she could call her own.

    This dream is impossible, distant as the stars - until the day Casiopea opens a curious chest in her grandfather's room and accidentally frees an ancient Mayan god of death. He offers her a deal: if Casiopea helps him recover his throne from his treacherous brother, he will grant her whatever she desires. Success will make her every dream come true, but failure will see her lost, for ever.

    In the company of the strangely alluring god and armed only with her wits, Casiopea begins an adventure that will take her on a cross-country odyssey, from the jungles of Yucatan to the bright lights of Mexico City and deep into the darkness of Xibalba, the Mayan underworld.

    'Wondrous and magical' Kevin Hearne, author of The Iron Druid Chronicles

    'Evocative and moving' Rebecca Roanhorse, author of Trial of Lightning

    'An adventure for the mind and the heart' Christina Henry, author of Alice

    'A joy to read' Genevieve Cogman, author of The Invisible Library series

    *
    *
    *

    'This is historical fantasy at its best' S.A. Chakraborty, author of The City of Brass

    Inspired by Mexican folklore, Gods of Jade and Shadow is a magical, wildly imaginative coming-of-age tale for fans of Katherine Arden, Naomi Novik and Helene Wecker.

    The Jazz Age is in full swing, but it's passing Casiopea Tun by. She's too busy scrubbing floors in her wealthy grandfather's house to do anything more than dream of a life far from her dusty, small town in southern Mexico. A life she could call her own.

    This dream is impossible, distant as the stars - until the day Casiopea opens a curious chest in her grandfather's room and accidentally frees an ancient Mayan god of death. He offers her a deal: if Casiopea helps him recover his throne from his treacherous brother, he will grant her whatever she desires. Success will make her every dream come true, but failure will see her lost, for ever.

    In the company of the strangely alluring god and armed only with her wits, Casiopea begins an adventure that will take her on a cross-country odyssey, from the jungles of Yucatan to the bright lights of Mexico City and deep into the darkness of Xibalba, the Mayan underworld.

    'Wondrous and magical' Kevin Hearne, author of The Iron Druid Chronicles

    'Evocative and moving' Rebecca Roanhorse, author of Trial of Lightning

    'An adventure for the mind and the heart' Christina Henry, author of Alice

    'A joy to read' Genevieve Cogman, author of The Invisible Library series