Close
(0) items
You have no items in your shopping cart.
Browse
    Filters
    Preferences
    Search

    How to Kidnap the Rich: 'A joyous love/hate letter to contemporary Delhi' The Times

    £14.99
    'Monstrously funny' Kevin Kwan, author of Crazy Rich Asians 'For fans of My Sister, the Serial Killer, Parasite and Crazy Rich Asians' Cosmopolitan Riz Ahmed signed as executive producer of the HBO series
    ISBN: 9781408713341
    AuthorRahul Raina
    Pub Date06/05/2021
    BindingHardback
    Pages304
    Availability: In Stock

    'It is his depiction of bustling, hustling Delhi and its grafting populace that makes this tightly written, fast-paced, often sharply savage societal satire such a rollicking read' SUNDAY TIMES

    'Fans of My Sister the Serial Killer, Parasite and Crazy Rich Asians will be enthralled by this riotous tale' COSMOPOLITAN

    'A satire, a love story and a thriller, How to Kidnap the Rich is a rollercoaster of a read' STYLIST

    Ramesh has a simple formula for fame and success: find a wealthy kid, make him a star and create an elaborate scheme to extort money from his parents, what could go wrong?

    As a self-styled 'examinations consultant', Ramesh is the cog in the wheel that keeps India's middle classes thriving. When he takes an exam for Rudi - an intolerably lazy but rich teenager - he accidently scores the highest mark in the country and propels Rudi into stardom.

    What next?
    Blackmail. Reality television. Grotesque wealth.

    And after that?
    Kidnap. Double-kidnap. Reverse kidnap.

    In a studio filled with hot lights, with millions of eyes on the boys, and a government investigator circling, the entire country begins to question: who are they?

    *
    *
    *

    'It is his depiction of bustling, hustling Delhi and its grafting populace that makes this tightly written, fast-paced, often sharply savage societal satire such a rollicking read' SUNDAY TIMES

    'Fans of My Sister the Serial Killer, Parasite and Crazy Rich Asians will be enthralled by this riotous tale' COSMOPOLITAN

    'A satire, a love story and a thriller, How to Kidnap the Rich is a rollercoaster of a read' STYLIST

    Ramesh has a simple formula for fame and success: find a wealthy kid, make him a star and create an elaborate scheme to extort money from his parents, what could go wrong?

    As a self-styled 'examinations consultant', Ramesh is the cog in the wheel that keeps India's middle classes thriving. When he takes an exam for Rudi - an intolerably lazy but rich teenager - he accidently scores the highest mark in the country and propels Rudi into stardom.

    What next?
    Blackmail. Reality television. Grotesque wealth.

    And after that?
    Kidnap. Double-kidnap. Reverse kidnap.

    In a studio filled with hot lights, with millions of eyes on the boys, and a government investigator circling, the entire country begins to question: who are they?