Close
(0) items
You have no items in your shopping cart.
Browse
    Filters
    Preferences
    Search

    Keep Dancing, Lizzie Chu

    £6.99
    Keep trying, keep laughing, keep dancing! Twelve-year-old Lizzie Chu lives with her grandad Jimmy, and he's been acting a little strangely lately.
    ISBN: 9781800781610
    AuthorMaisie Chan
    Pub Date09/06/2022
    BindingPaperback
    Pages240
    Availability: In Stock

    Keep trying, keep laughing, keep dancing!

    The new novel from the Blue Peter Book Award shortlisted author of DANNY CHUNG DOES NOT DO MATHS

    Twelve-year-old Lizzie Chu lives in Glasgow with her grandad Wai Gong, and he's been acting a little strange lately. He is becoming forgetful, and spends a lot of time talking to his statue of Guan Yin - the Chinese goddess of compassion, kindness and mercy. Lizzie is worried about Wai Gong, but doesn't really know what to do to help him. She's already got a lot on her plate with caring for him, doing the shopping and everything else on top of schoolwork and the usual trials of being twelve!

    Then Lizzie comes up with a madcap plan. She's going to take Wai Gong on the trip of a lifetime, to Blackpool - to the Tower Ballroom, where he always longed to go, to dance with his late wife Grandma Kam. To rekindle that love for dancing and to see if Wai Gong can find his mojo again. The only problem is - just how on earth is she going to get him there? With a little help from her friends Chi and Tyler, some ingenious costumes and an older brother with a beat-up Mini, Lizzie might just make it - and maybe she will be able to help Wai Gong get better after all?

    A warmhearted, funny, intergenerational story for fans of Frank Cottrell Boyce and Benjamin Dean

    *
    *
    *

    Keep trying, keep laughing, keep dancing!

    The new novel from the Blue Peter Book Award shortlisted author of DANNY CHUNG DOES NOT DO MATHS

    Twelve-year-old Lizzie Chu lives in Glasgow with her grandad Wai Gong, and he's been acting a little strange lately. He is becoming forgetful, and spends a lot of time talking to his statue of Guan Yin - the Chinese goddess of compassion, kindness and mercy. Lizzie is worried about Wai Gong, but doesn't really know what to do to help him. She's already got a lot on her plate with caring for him, doing the shopping and everything else on top of schoolwork and the usual trials of being twelve!

    Then Lizzie comes up with a madcap plan. She's going to take Wai Gong on the trip of a lifetime, to Blackpool - to the Tower Ballroom, where he always longed to go, to dance with his late wife Grandma Kam. To rekindle that love for dancing and to see if Wai Gong can find his mojo again. The only problem is - just how on earth is she going to get him there? With a little help from her friends Chi and Tyler, some ingenious costumes and an older brother with a beat-up Mini, Lizzie might just make it - and maybe she will be able to help Wai Gong get better after all?

    A warmhearted, funny, intergenerational story for fans of Frank Cottrell Boyce and Benjamin Dean