Close
(0) items
You have no items in your shopping cart.
Browse
    Filters
    Preferences
    Search

    Leviathan

    £14.99
    ISBN: 9781526637338
    AuthorRosie Andrews
    Pub Date03/02/2022
    BindingHardback
    Pages320
    Availability: In Stock

    THE INSTANT SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER

    SELECTED AS ONE OF THE OBSERVER'S 10 BEST DEBUT NOVELISTS OF 2022

    'It's hard to believe that such an accomplished novel could be a debut - The Leviathan is a gloriously dark story that sweeps you along to its harrowing yet satisfying conclusion. Superb' Susan Stokes-Chapman, number one bestselling author of Pandora

    'Darkly compelling and dripping with atmosphere... bewitching' Stacey Halls, Sunday Times bestselling author of THE FAMILIARS

    A beguiling tale of superstition, myth and murder, perfect for fans of The Binding, The Essex Serpent and Once Upon a River.

    SHE IS AWAKE...

    Norfolk, 1643. With civil war tearing England apart, reluctant soldier Thomas Treadwater is summoned home by his sister, who accuses a new servant of improper conduct with their widowed father. By the time Thomas returns home, his father is insensible, felled by a stroke, and their new servant is in prison, facing charges of witchcraft.

    Thomas prides himself on being a rational, modern man, but as he unravels the mystery of what has happened, he uncovers not a tale of superstition but something dark and ancient, linked to a shipwreck years before.

    Something has awoken, and now it will not rest.

    Richly researched, incredibly atmospheric, and deliciously unsettling, The Leviathan is set in England during a time of political and religious turbulence. It is a tale of family and loyalty, superstition and sacrifice, but most of all it is a spellbinding mystery and a story of impossible things.

    'Outstanding... a seething, haunting delight' Beth Underdown, award-winning author of THE WITCHFINDER'S SISTER

    'Thoroughly gripping and utterly absorbing' Jennifer Saint, author of ARIADNE

    *
    *
    *

    THE INSTANT SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER

    SELECTED AS ONE OF THE OBSERVER'S 10 BEST DEBUT NOVELISTS OF 2022

    'It's hard to believe that such an accomplished novel could be a debut - The Leviathan is a gloriously dark story that sweeps you along to its harrowing yet satisfying conclusion. Superb' Susan Stokes-Chapman, number one bestselling author of Pandora

    'Darkly compelling and dripping with atmosphere... bewitching' Stacey Halls, Sunday Times bestselling author of THE FAMILIARS

    A beguiling tale of superstition, myth and murder, perfect for fans of The Binding, The Essex Serpent and Once Upon a River.

    SHE IS AWAKE...

    Norfolk, 1643. With civil war tearing England apart, reluctant soldier Thomas Treadwater is summoned home by his sister, who accuses a new servant of improper conduct with their widowed father. By the time Thomas returns home, his father is insensible, felled by a stroke, and their new servant is in prison, facing charges of witchcraft.

    Thomas prides himself on being a rational, modern man, but as he unravels the mystery of what has happened, he uncovers not a tale of superstition but something dark and ancient, linked to a shipwreck years before.

    Something has awoken, and now it will not rest.

    Richly researched, incredibly atmospheric, and deliciously unsettling, The Leviathan is set in England during a time of political and religious turbulence. It is a tale of family and loyalty, superstition and sacrifice, but most of all it is a spellbinding mystery and a story of impossible things.

    'Outstanding... a seething, haunting delight' Beth Underdown, award-winning author of THE WITCHFINDER'S SISTER

    'Thoroughly gripping and utterly absorbing' Jennifer Saint, author of ARIADNE

    Customers who bought this item also bought

    Wild And Wicked Things

    £12.99
    The Great Gatsby meets Practical Magic in this lush, decadent gothic novel where a young woman gets swept into a glittering world filled with illicit magic, romance, blood debts and murder