Close
(0) items
You have no items in your shopping cart.
Browse
    Filters
    Preferences
    Search

    Prophecy (Giordano Bruno, Book 2)

    £8.99
    The No. 1 Sunday Times bestselling series The second book in S. J. Parris's bestselling, critically acclaimed series following Giordano Bruno, set at the time of Queen Elizabeth I
    ISBN: 9780007317738
    AuthorS. J. Parris
    Pub Date18/08/2011
    BindingPaperback
    Pages448
    Availability: In Stock

    The No. 1 Sunday Times bestselling series
    The second book in S. J. Parris's bestselling, critically acclaimed series following Giordano Bruno, set at the time of Queen Elizabeth I



    Autumn, 1583. Under Elizabeth's rule, loyalty is bought with blood...



    An astrological phenomenon heralds the dawn of a new age and Queen Elizabeth's throne is in peril. As Mary Stuart's supporters scheme to usurp the rightful monarch, a young maid of honour is murdered, occult symbols carved into her flesh.


    The Queen's spymaster, Francis Walsingham, calls on maverick agent Giordano Bruno to infiltrate the plotters and secure the evidence that will condemn them to death.


    Bruno is cunning, but so are his enemies. His identity could be exposed at any moment. The proof he seeks is within his grasp. But the young woman's murder could point to an even more sinister truth...


    Perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom and Hilary Mantel

    Praise for S. J. Parris



    'A delicious blend of history and thriller' The Times


    'An omnipresent sense of danger' Daily Mail


    'Colourful characters, fast-moving plots and a world where one false step in religion or politics can mean a grisly death' Sunday Times


    'Pacy, intricate, and thrilling' Observer


    'Vivid, sprawling ... Well-crafted, exuberant' Financial Times


    'Impossible to resist' Daily Telegraph


    'Twists and turns like a corkscrew of venomous snakes' Stuart MacBride


    'It has everything - intrigue, mystery and excellent history' Kate Mosse


    'The period is incredibly vivid and the story utterly gripping' Conn Iggulden


    'A brilliantly unusual glimpse at the intrigues surrounding Queen Elizabeth I' Andrew Taylor


    "Rich in both historical detail and ingenious twists' Sam Bourne (bestselling author of The Righteous Men)

    *
    *
    *

    The No. 1 Sunday Times bestselling series
    The second book in S. J. Parris's bestselling, critically acclaimed series following Giordano Bruno, set at the time of Queen Elizabeth I



    Autumn, 1583. Under Elizabeth's rule, loyalty is bought with blood...



    An astrological phenomenon heralds the dawn of a new age and Queen Elizabeth's throne is in peril. As Mary Stuart's supporters scheme to usurp the rightful monarch, a young maid of honour is murdered, occult symbols carved into her flesh.


    The Queen's spymaster, Francis Walsingham, calls on maverick agent Giordano Bruno to infiltrate the plotters and secure the evidence that will condemn them to death.


    Bruno is cunning, but so are his enemies. His identity could be exposed at any moment. The proof he seeks is within his grasp. But the young woman's murder could point to an even more sinister truth...


    Perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom and Hilary Mantel

    Praise for S. J. Parris



    'A delicious blend of history and thriller' The Times


    'An omnipresent sense of danger' Daily Mail


    'Colourful characters, fast-moving plots and a world where one false step in religion or politics can mean a grisly death' Sunday Times


    'Pacy, intricate, and thrilling' Observer


    'Vivid, sprawling ... Well-crafted, exuberant' Financial Times


    'Impossible to resist' Daily Telegraph


    'Twists and turns like a corkscrew of venomous snakes' Stuart MacBride


    'It has everything - intrigue, mystery and excellent history' Kate Mosse


    'The period is incredibly vivid and the story utterly gripping' Conn Iggulden


    'A brilliantly unusual glimpse at the intrigues surrounding Queen Elizabeth I' Andrew Taylor


    "Rich in both historical detail and ingenious twists' Sam Bourne (bestselling author of The Righteous Men)