Close
(0) items
You have no items in your shopping cart.
Browse
    Filters
    Preferences
    Search
    Publisher: Canongate

    The Garden of Evening Mists

    £8.99
    Tan Twan Eng's rich, absorbing, internationally bestselling, Man Booker-shortlisted epic
    ISBN: 9781786893895
    AuthorTan Twan Eng
    Pub Date28/02/2019
    BindingPaperback
    Pages352
    Availability: In Stock

    THE INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER
    SHORTLISTED FOR THE MAN BOOKER PRIZE
    WINNER OF THE MAN ASIAN LITERARY PRIZE
    WINNER OF THE WALTER SCOTT PRIZE

    Teoh Yun Ling was seventeen years old when she first heard about Aritomo and the garden. But a war would come to Malaya, and a decade pass before she would travel to see him. A man of extraordinary skill and reputation, Aritomo was once the gardener for the Emperor of Japan, and now Yun Ling needs him. She needs him to help her build a memorial to her beloved sister, killed at the hands of the Japanese. She wants to learn everything Aritomo can teach her, and do her sister proud, but to do so she must also begin a journey into her own past, a past inextricably linked with the secrets of her troubled country.

    A story of art, war, love and memory, The Garden of Evening Mists captures a dark moment in history with richness, power and incredible beauty.

    Write your own review
    • Only registered users can write reviews
    *
    *
    • Bad
    • Excellent
    *
    *
    *

    THE INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER
    SHORTLISTED FOR THE MAN BOOKER PRIZE
    WINNER OF THE MAN ASIAN LITERARY PRIZE
    WINNER OF THE WALTER SCOTT PRIZE

    Teoh Yun Ling was seventeen years old when she first heard about Aritomo and the garden. But a war would come to Malaya, and a decade pass before she would travel to see him. A man of extraordinary skill and reputation, Aritomo was once the gardener for the Emperor of Japan, and now Yun Ling needs him. She needs him to help her build a memorial to her beloved sister, killed at the hands of the Japanese. She wants to learn everything Aritomo can teach her, and do her sister proud, but to do so she must also begin a journey into her own past, a past inextricably linked with the secrets of her troubled country.

    A story of art, war, love and memory, The Garden of Evening Mists captures a dark moment in history with richness, power and incredible beauty.

    Customers who bought this item also bought

    The Art of Hearing Heartbeats

    £8.99
    For readers who enjoyed 'The Snow Child' and 'The Glass Palace' this is an intoxicating and lush love story, set in present-day New York and 1950s Burma.

    Celestial Bodies

    £8.99
    Celestial Bodies is a coiled spring of a novel, telling of Oman's coming-of-age through the prism of one family's losses and loves.

    She Would Be King

    £8.99

    The Memory Police

    £8.99
    Who knows what will vanish next?The Memory Police is a beautiful, haunting and provocative fable about the power of memory and the trauma of loss, from one of Japan's greatest writers. 'One of Japan's most acclaimed authors explores truth, state surveillance and individual autonomy.