Close
(0) items
You have no items in your shopping cart.
Browse
    Filters
    Preferences
    Search

    The Good Hawk

    £7.99
    I read The Good Hawk by Joseph Elliot a while ago now and it has really stuck with me, I’d recommend it for both children and adults that like gripping fantastical adventure. Set in mythic Scotland, probably the Isle of Skye, two unlikely heroes must make a dangerous journey to protect their people’. The book is dually narrated by two characters, both members of the Tuath clan but with different roles within the clan structure. It is subtly inferred through the language that one of the two narrators, Agatha, has different learning abilities. Agatha is very determined and proud, but at times is treated badly and taunted by others. The author handles the subject matter extremely well and we feel Agatha’s frustration as she strives to support the clan as well as she can. Jamie, the other narrator, also grapples with his own insecurities and through both we come to learn that the emotional rollercoaster of growing up is just has hard in their world. When Skye is invaded our heroes embark on a quest to save their clan. Along the way they encounter monsters and discover powers they didn’t know they had.The Good Hawk is an absolute must read for every fantasy fiction fan out there.
    ISBN: 9781406385854
    AuthorJoseph Elliott
    Pub Date01/02/2020
    BindingPaperback
    Pages368
    Availability: In Stock

    If everything was taken from you, what would you do to get it back?

    Agatha patrols the sea wall with pride, despite those in her clan who question her right to be there, because of the condition she was born with.

    Jaime is a reluctant Angler, full of self-doubt and afraid of the sea.

    When disaster strikes, the pair must embark on a terrifying journey to a land where forgotten magic and dark secrets lurk in every shadow...

    Thrilling and dark, yet rich with humour and compassion, this novel marks the debut of a wonderful new voice in fantasy and a welcome new kind of protagonist - perfect for fans of The Girl of Ink and Stars, Garth Nix and Michelle Paver.

    As featured on BBC Radio 2 on Jo Whiley's Storytime.

    "A thrilling, strange and brutally involving debut." Guardian

    "A story fantasy-loving young readers may not even know they've been waiting for." New York Times

    "A wild, thrilling and sometimes dark fantasy adventure." The Week Junior

    "A gripping, brutal adventure that completely swept me away." Emma Carroll

    "A brave new voice in fantasy fiction." Sally Green, author of Half Bad

    "I could hardly turn the pages fast enough." Holly Jackson, author of A Good Girl's Guide to Murder

    "Darkly beautiful, original and brimming with hope and compassion." Kesia Lupo, author of We Are Blood And Thunder

    "A sublimely plotted, windswept adventure." Cerrie Burnell, Children's TV Presenter and author of The Girl with the Shark's Teeth

    "This book is a triumph." Katya Balen, author of The Space We're In

    "One of the freshest, most exciting fantasies I've ever read." Sarah Ann Juckes, author of Outside

    "A proper barnstormer ... This book is a charismatic charmer." SFX

    "A page-turner of a book, packing a real punch with its high-level suspense." BookTrust

    "Rich in atmosphere while dripping with grisly violence ... A fresh and exciting debut." Kirkus

    "The chill barren setting of Scotia provides rich terrain for an unsettling wildness." The Irish Times

    Write your own review
    • Only registered users can write reviews
    *
    *
    • Bad
    • Excellent
    *
    *
    *

    If everything was taken from you, what would you do to get it back?

    Agatha patrols the sea wall with pride, despite those in her clan who question her right to be there, because of the condition she was born with.

    Jaime is a reluctant Angler, full of self-doubt and afraid of the sea.

    When disaster strikes, the pair must embark on a terrifying journey to a land where forgotten magic and dark secrets lurk in every shadow...

    Thrilling and dark, yet rich with humour and compassion, this novel marks the debut of a wonderful new voice in fantasy and a welcome new kind of protagonist - perfect for fans of The Girl of Ink and Stars, Garth Nix and Michelle Paver.

    As featured on BBC Radio 2 on Jo Whiley's Storytime.

    "A thrilling, strange and brutally involving debut." Guardian

    "A story fantasy-loving young readers may not even know they've been waiting for." New York Times

    "A wild, thrilling and sometimes dark fantasy adventure." The Week Junior

    "A gripping, brutal adventure that completely swept me away." Emma Carroll

    "A brave new voice in fantasy fiction." Sally Green, author of Half Bad

    "I could hardly turn the pages fast enough." Holly Jackson, author of A Good Girl's Guide to Murder

    "Darkly beautiful, original and brimming with hope and compassion." Kesia Lupo, author of We Are Blood And Thunder

    "A sublimely plotted, windswept adventure." Cerrie Burnell, Children's TV Presenter and author of The Girl with the Shark's Teeth

    "This book is a triumph." Katya Balen, author of The Space We're In

    "One of the freshest, most exciting fantasies I've ever read." Sarah Ann Juckes, author of Outside

    "A proper barnstormer ... This book is a charismatic charmer." SFX

    "A page-turner of a book, packing a real punch with its high-level suspense." BookTrust

    "Rich in atmosphere while dripping with grisly violence ... A fresh and exciting debut." Kirkus

    "The chill barren setting of Scotia provides rich terrain for an unsettling wildness." The Irish Times