Close
(0) items
You have no items in your shopping cart.
Browse
    Filters
    Preferences
    Search

    The Last Wilderness: A Journey into Silence

    £10.99
    Shortlisted for the 2018 Wainwright Golden Beer Book Prize, THE LAST WILDERNESS is a hauntingly beautiful memoir on nature and hearing loss, for readers of Macfarlane's THE OLD WAYS or John Lewis-Stempel's THE RUNNING HARE
    ISBN: 9781472247124
    AuthorAnsell, Neil
    Pub Date26/07/2018
    BindingPaperback
    Pages320
    Availability: In Stock

    Neil Ansell's THE LAST WILDERNESS is a mesmerising book on nature and solitude by a writer who has spent his lifetime taking solitary ventures into the wild. For any readers of the author's previous book, DEEP COUNTRY, Robert Macfarlane's THE OLD WAYS or William Atkins THE MOOR.

    Shortlisted for the 2018 Wainwright Golden Beer Book Prize
    Shortlisted for the 2018 Highland Book Prize

    'Ansell has the rare skill of combining vividly the intimacy of detail and the astonishing grandeur of this North West coastline of Scotland. Through his keen eyes we look again at the familiar with a sense of wondrous revelation' Madeleine Bunting

    'Beautiful...a testimony to reticent courage' Daily Mail


    The experience of being in nature alone is here set within the context of a series of walks that Neil Ansell takes into the most remote parts of Britain, the rough bounds in the Scottish Highlands. He illustrates the impact of being alone as part of nature, rather than outside it.

    As a counterpoint, Neil Ansell also writes of the changes in the landscape, and how his hearing loss affects his relationship with nature as the calls of the birds he knows so well become silent to him.

    *
    *
    *

    Neil Ansell's THE LAST WILDERNESS is a mesmerising book on nature and solitude by a writer who has spent his lifetime taking solitary ventures into the wild. For any readers of the author's previous book, DEEP COUNTRY, Robert Macfarlane's THE OLD WAYS or William Atkins THE MOOR.

    Shortlisted for the 2018 Wainwright Golden Beer Book Prize
    Shortlisted for the 2018 Highland Book Prize

    'Ansell has the rare skill of combining vividly the intimacy of detail and the astonishing grandeur of this North West coastline of Scotland. Through his keen eyes we look again at the familiar with a sense of wondrous revelation' Madeleine Bunting

    'Beautiful...a testimony to reticent courage' Daily Mail


    The experience of being in nature alone is here set within the context of a series of walks that Neil Ansell takes into the most remote parts of Britain, the rough bounds in the Scottish Highlands. He illustrates the impact of being alone as part of nature, rather than outside it.

    As a counterpoint, Neil Ansell also writes of the changes in the landscape, and how his hearing loss affects his relationship with nature as the calls of the birds he knows so well become silent to him.