Close
(0) items
You have no items in your shopping cart.
Browse
    Filters
    Preferences
    Search

    The Other Mrs Walker

    £8.99
    A detective story with no detective...
    ISBN: 9781447293927
    AuthorMary Paulson-Ellis
    Pub Date23/03/2017
    Pages448
    Availability: Available to Order

    Waterstones Scottish Book of the Year

    The Other Mrs Walker is the beguiling debut from Mary Paulson-Ellis, for fans of Kate Atkinson and Sarah Waters.

    Somehow she'd always known that she would end like this. In a small square room, in a small square flat. In a small square box, perhaps. Cardboard, with a sticker on the outside. And a name . . .

    An old lady dies alone and unheeded in a cold Edinburgh flat on a snowy Christmas night. A faded emerald dress hangs in her wardrobe; a spilt glass of whisky pools on the floor.

    A few days later a middle-aged woman arrives back in the city she thought she'd left behind, her future uncertain, her past in tatters.

    She soon finds herself a job at the Office for Lost People, tracking down the families of those who have died neglected and alone.

    But what Margaret Penny cannot yet know, is just how entangled her own life will become in the death of one lonely stranger . . .

    'One of the strongest debuts of the year' Herald

    'Full of twists and turns' Independent

    'A wonderful, inventive debut . . . I can't wait to see what this author has up her sleeve next' Fanny Blake, Daily Mail

    *
    *
    *

    Waterstones Scottish Book of the Year

    The Other Mrs Walker is the beguiling debut from Mary Paulson-Ellis, for fans of Kate Atkinson and Sarah Waters.

    Somehow she'd always known that she would end like this. In a small square room, in a small square flat. In a small square box, perhaps. Cardboard, with a sticker on the outside. And a name . . .

    An old lady dies alone and unheeded in a cold Edinburgh flat on a snowy Christmas night. A faded emerald dress hangs in her wardrobe; a spilt glass of whisky pools on the floor.

    A few days later a middle-aged woman arrives back in the city she thought she'd left behind, her future uncertain, her past in tatters.

    She soon finds herself a job at the Office for Lost People, tracking down the families of those who have died neglected and alone.

    But what Margaret Penny cannot yet know, is just how entangled her own life will become in the death of one lonely stranger . . .

    'One of the strongest debuts of the year' Herald

    'Full of twists and turns' Independent

    'A wonderful, inventive debut . . . I can't wait to see what this author has up her sleeve next' Fanny Blake, Daily Mail

    Customers who bought this item also bought

    The Pavilion in the Clouds

    £14.99
    A brand new stand-alone novel from Alexander McCall Smith, The Pavilion in the Clouds is a beautifully evocative story, set mostly in 1930s Ceylon (now known as Sri Lanka). This atmospheric novel, set in the pre- and post-war years in both Ceylon and Scotland poses the question of what it is to be home.

    Scottish Clearances

    £10.99

    On Forgiveness: How Can We Forgive the Unforgivable?

    £8.99
    'The book everyone needs to read' JEANETTE WINTERSON, The Times

    Looking In the Distance: The Human Search for Meaning

    £9.99
    An examination of spirituality, from the Sunday Times bestselling author of Leaving Alexandria

    Skin

    £16.99
    Above the water, a welcoming community of men offer refuge from an increasingly rocky home life. Fourteen years later, a new revelation sees Matty set off alone in a campervan, driving westwards through Ireland, swimming its wild loughs and following the scant clues left behind about Joe.