Close
(0) items
You have no items in your shopping cart.
Browse
    Filters
    Preferences
    Search

    This Green and Pleasant Land

    £8.99
    Winner of Best Adult Book at the 2020 Diverse Book Awards
    ISBN: 9781785764509
    AuthorAyisha Malik
    Pub Date01/10/2020
    BindingPaperback
    Pages464
    Availability: Out of Stock

    SHORTLISTED FOR THE DIVERSE BOOK AWARDS
    'Tender, challenging and as warm as it was razor-sharp' Beth O'Leary
    'If you've read Joanna Cannon I think you'll love this' Simon Savidge
    'A sublimely witty and touching story' Jonathan Coe

    The standout new novel by acclaimed author Ayisha Malik - perfect for fans of David Nicholls and Candice Carty-Williams.

    In the sleepy village of Babel's End, trouble is brewing.

    Bilal Hasham is having a mid-life crisis. His mother has just died, and he finds peace lying in a grave he's dug in the garden. His elderly Auntie Rukhsana has come to live with him, and forged an unlikely friendship with village busybody, Shelley Hawking. His wife Mariam is distant and distracted, and his stepson Haaris is spending more time with his real father.

    Bilal's mother's dying wish was to build a mosque in Babel's End, but when Shelley gets wind of this scheme, she unleashes the forces of hell. Will Bilal's mosque project bring his family and his beloved village together again, or drive them apart?

    Warm, wise and laugh-out-loud funny, This Green and Pleasant Land is a life-affirming look at love, faith and the meaning of home.

    Write your own review
    • Only registered users can write reviews
    *
    *
    • Bad
    • Excellent
    *
    *
    *

    SHORTLISTED FOR THE DIVERSE BOOK AWARDS
    'Tender, challenging and as warm as it was razor-sharp' Beth O'Leary
    'If you've read Joanna Cannon I think you'll love this' Simon Savidge
    'A sublimely witty and touching story' Jonathan Coe

    The standout new novel by acclaimed author Ayisha Malik - perfect for fans of David Nicholls and Candice Carty-Williams.

    In the sleepy village of Babel's End, trouble is brewing.

    Bilal Hasham is having a mid-life crisis. His mother has just died, and he finds peace lying in a grave he's dug in the garden. His elderly Auntie Rukhsana has come to live with him, and forged an unlikely friendship with village busybody, Shelley Hawking. His wife Mariam is distant and distracted, and his stepson Haaris is spending more time with his real father.

    Bilal's mother's dying wish was to build a mosque in Babel's End, but when Shelley gets wind of this scheme, she unleashes the forces of hell. Will Bilal's mosque project bring his family and his beloved village together again, or drive them apart?

    Warm, wise and laugh-out-loud funny, This Green and Pleasant Land is a life-affirming look at love, faith and the meaning of home.